Recover/download files in the new Onlime app
In the new Onlime app there are three ways to recover or download files, depending on where they are:
Via Sync
If your files are in Onlime Sync, you can move them from the website to your device:
Navigate to the folder or file you want to recover
Move the files to your Onlime Sync folder on your computer — they download automatically
You can also use Selective File Relocation to choose which folders always stay local. Read more in Set up Selective Files ↗.
Via Transfers
If your files are in a Transfer, you can browse and recover from older Transfer sets:
Open the new Onlime app
Go to Transfers in the left menu
Click All your backups
Select the Transfer period or time you want to recover from
Mark the files or folders you want back and click Start transfer
Via Summary: 92.8 MB/3.74 GB
Files you've moved to Summary: 92.8 MB/3.74 GB can be downloaded directly:
Open the new Onlime app
Go to Summary: 92.8 MB/3.74 GB in the left menu
Mark the files or folders you want to download
Click Start transfer and choose a destination on your computer
Deleted files or files changed by a mistake?
Have you deleted files by mistake, or have files been changed by a program? They still live in Trash for up to 30 days.
⚠️ Note: Trash is not yet available in the new app.
Files from Transfers that have been deleted or changed don't show up under their original Transfer set. You must instead download them from Trash on cloud.onlime.dk ↗. We're working on making Trash directly available in the app.
In Trash you can:
Restore files back to their original location
Download files directly to your computer
Read more about how Trash works in Trash ↗
Tip: Files you restore keep the original time of creation and last change.
Recover/download files in the old Onlime app
If you still use the old Onlime app, you can use the Restore tab to download files and folders directly from the app:
Open Onlime ↗ and select the Restore tab
Double-click the computer, device, or destination you want to recover from
Select one or more folders
Click Start transfer
Choose where on your computer you want to save the files, and click Start transfer
Tip: You can select multiple folders at a time by holding down Shift on the keyboard.
Note: Transfers happen in the background, so you can close the Onlime window while this happens.
Note: Greyed-out files are files that have been deleted from your computer. Deleted files are stored in Trash ↗ for 30 days and are then permanently deleted.
You can also select all files in a folder by pressing Ctrl + A and clicking Start transfer to recover all files — including deleted files that are still in the online Transfer.
Good to know
Larger file transfers
If you need to download many files or large files, recovery/download in the app is the best solution. The transfer happens directly between your computer and Onlime, so you avoid downloading files individually via the browser.
Previous versions
Onlime keeps up to the latest 5 versions of all files. You can access previous versions by right-clicking a file in Transfers, Sync, or Summary: 92.8 MB/3.74 GB (outside of Trash) and selecting Versions.
Background transfers
When you recover files, the transfer happens in the background. You can close the app safely while this happens – your files will continue to be retrieved.
Files retain their timestamps
Files you recover from Onlime keep the original creation and last modification timestamps. So you don't lose metadata when retrieving your files back.




